The German Girl

The German Girl

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
19
2
1
AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly , People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

"An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II." --Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife

A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this "engrossing and heartbreaking" ( Library Journal , starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale , Lilac Girls , and The Tattooist of Auschwitz .

Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis , a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past.

Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.
Publisher: New York :, Atria Books,, 2016
ISBN: 9781501121241
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
kimh454
May 25, 2021

I loved it. There were pictures of the actual passengers at the end of the copy I checked out. There was also a factual account given at the end as well.

g
gillescoughlan
May 09, 2021

A sad story as it deals with loss (by the Nazis and from 9/11), which does offer a bit of hope and redemption at the end.

However it has one problem: it has the typical, American view of post-revolutionary Cuba, where everything is bleak, and everyone wants to leave (even though, if you are sick and need healthcare, Cuba is a better place to be than the US). No mention of how the population was exploited and uneducated before the revolution.

It is an interesting read, but keep the bias in mind.

l
lilypad_1
Aug 01, 2020

So much history not included, the conditions on the ship as it waited in port, running out of provisions. Why didn't USA, Canada, England, other countries let these refugees in? Really a romance which was really depressing.

m
Margush
Mar 23, 2020

A book based on a real story, documenting a life story of a family betrayed by their sick motherland and forced to leave it behind, is truly heart breaking. Taking one family as an example and focusing on their hurdles, thoughts, concerns, humiliation, relationships, worries, gains and losses within a few time frames creates a compelling picture that stays with you for a long time. Keeping in mind how recently these events happened, I understand that a layer of [our] civilization is really thin. We must remain vigilant for those atrocities to never be repeated again, and to treat all people regardless of their origin, ethnicity and race as humans, with respect.

VaughanPLDavidB Aug 28, 2019

For anyone familiar with the plight of Jews in Europe in the 20th century, and with Holocaust literature, this book sheds little new light on the conditions they suffered, although it does remind the reader of a particularly shameful historic incident (for Cuba, the US and Canada), with the passenger liner the St. Louis, which, with its full load of Jewish refugees, was turned away from all three countries and forced to return to Europe. It is an otherwise unremarkable story. It would have been a better story if it had followed the St. Louis on its odyssey rather than focus on one family in Cuba.

o
OP_2
Aug 26, 2019

Tea & Talk Book Club / May 2017

h
Havanacat
Jan 25, 2019

People. A Holocaust story based on the real-life, ill-fated journey of the St. Louis ship.

p
PatrickT
Jan 19, 2019

Good story. A mix of fact and fiction.

m
maipenrai
Jan 16, 2019

Knowing the story of the ship St. Louis, I thought that a book about the turning away of a ship with Jews escaping the Nazis by Cuba, Canada and the United States was enough of a story in itself. Adding other complex story lines seemed a bit like overkill to me. Mild recommendation Kristi & Abby Tabby

u
unicorn1
May 20, 2018

After being refused entry to Cuba, this ship went on to the US and Halifax, Nova Scotia, where it was also refused entry and forced to return to Europe and eventually to Germany. As it was just before the start of the Second World War, more than 200 of its passengers went on to die in the Holocaust. It is an especially relevant read as Prime Minister Trudeau is apologizing to the Jewish people for refusing their entry and condemning the ship to return to Europe in the House of Commons today (November 7, 2018). In addition to its relevance, it is a very good read, although the outcome is sad and shameful.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
v
VanessaL52
Feb 01, 2020

VanessaL52 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

l
ll58057
Jul 17, 2017

ll58057 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
v
VanessaL52
Apr 03, 2019

Frightening or Intense Scenes: Described Suicide

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top