Husband and Wife

Husband and Wife

A Novel

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

"Leah Stewart's brilliantly written novel Husband and Wife is a deeply human book: funny, tender, smart, self-aware. When you read it you will laugh, you will cry, you will recognize others, you will recognize yourself." -- Elin Hilderbrand, author of The Castaways and Barefoot

From the highly acclaimed author of The Myth of You and Me comes a new novel about a young mother who finds her identity rocked to the core when her writer-husband reveals his next novel about infidelity isn't entirely fiction. Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Ayelet Waldman, and Marisa de los Santos, as well as memoirs like Happens Every Day and Perfection, will love Leah Stewart's Husband and Wife.

Publisher: New York : Harper, c2010
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780061774508
Branch Call Number: FIC STE
Characteristics: 344 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
marleneww
Jan 01, 2015

I persevered for 50 pages, hoping for some story. I gave up.

m
mvanzuylen13
Feb 23, 2014

I'm surprised that this book has 3.5 stars as a rating here. I really disliked this book. It is a story about what happens after a husband confesses an infidelity to his wife. The wife then goes into a self pitying free fall. I felt no sympathy for the wife, whose narration still felt that she thought she was a bit too clever, and who didn't see a problem with her own bad behavior in the aftermath of her husband's infidelity. She is faithless herself, is neglectful of her children, and irresponsible at her job. If the author was trying to convey some journey of self discovery, the book failed in that attempt entirely. I can't believe I read the whole thing. I would advise anyone who wants a good read to choose from one of the many other excellent books on the shelves at SPL, and avoid this one.

r
redwallflower
Aug 13, 2010

The premise looked promising and while this was a fairly good read, I found it to be far too long. I feel that it would have been better suited as a short story (or at least much shorter than 350 pages!)

One scene, the one set in a McDonalds, involves a diaper, a baby and a preschooler. It is mortifying to read. It was like a train wreck. I wanted to turn away, but just couldn't and cringed the whole time!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top