Where the Shadows Lie

Where the Shadows Lie

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3

An ancient saga. A modern legend. A secret worth killing for.

Amid Iceland's wild, volcanic landscape, rumors swirl of an ancient manuscript inscribed with a long-lost saga about a ring of terrible power. A rediscovered saga alone would be worth a fortune, but, if the rumors can be believed, there is something much more valuable about this one. Something worth killing for. Something that will cost Professor Agnar Haraldsson his life.

Untangling murder from myth is Iceland-born, Boston-raised detective Magnus Jonson. On loan to the Icelandic Police Force for his own protection after a Massachusetts drug cartel puts a bounty on his head, Magnus is eager work the Haraldsson case, a rare lethal crime for the island nation. But his unorthodox investigative technique soon gets him into trouble with his more traditional superiors, intensifying his mixed feelings about returning to his native country--a place of tangled family loyalties haunted by his father's unsolved murder--after nearly two decades. And as Magnus is about to discover, the past casts a long shadow in Iceland.

Binding Iceland's landscape and history, secrets and superstitions in a strikingly original plot in the tradition of Arnaldur Indridason and Henning Mankell, Where the Shadows Lie is a heart-pounding new series from an established master.

Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2011
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9780312675035
Branch Call Number: FIC RID
Characteristics: 344 p. : map ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
p
Pisinga
Apr 27, 2012

It is describes very well the habits, traditions, nature, legends, history of Iceland. And that description successfully intertwines with the detective story. Not knowing much about this country, it was quite interesting to read, more interesting than the detective story itself, that in many ways, was very much resembling those Television police dramas with usual fights, shots, police persecutions and the like. The big plus – you can feel the love for Island and pride of its people for their country.
It gives a big plus to an author, who is not the Islander, but he could transmit very convincing that love and pride of Islanders.

a
athena14
Jan 12, 2012

If you are a Lord of the Rings fan, you'll probably understand the plot. I'm not, however, and found it confusing and exasperating.

c
cheadlebeagle
Oct 06, 2011

This was o.k and the premise was good but I found there was way too much about The Lord of the Rings in it and as I am not a huge fan of that saga it became a bit boring. I will give the next book in this series a try though as there is potential for a good series.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top