Next to Love

Next to Love

A Novel

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Postmistress , and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, a story of love, war, loss, and the scars they leave set during the years of World War II and its aftermath.
Set in a small town in Massachusetts, Next to Love follows three childhood friends, Babe, Millie, and Grace, whose lives are unmoored when their men are called to duty. And yet the changes that are thrust upon them move them in directions they never dreamed possible--while their husbands and boyfriends are enduring their own transformations. In the decades that follow, the three friends lose their innocence, struggle to raise their children, and find meaning and love in unexpected places. And as they change, so does America--from a country in which people know their place in the social hierarchy to a world in which feminism, the Civil Rights movement, and technological innovations present new possibilities--and uncertainties. And yet Babe, Millie, and Grace remain bonded by their past, even as their children grow up and away and a new society rises from the ashes of the war.
Beautifully crafted and unforgettable, Next to Love depicts the enduring power of love and friendship, and illuminates a transformational moment in American history.
Publisher: New York : Spiegel & Grau, c2011
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780812992717
Branch Call Number: FIC FEL
Characteristics: 292 p. ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Dec 07, 2016

This book reminded me a bit of The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society. I loved the characters and it was such a pleasure to read. I also loved the author's use of the complexity of marriage. Not an action packed book. Just quiet and pleasurable.

Sep 03, 2012

This is not my usual kind of book but once I got into it I couldn't put it down. Brought back many memories of my own early years. Really enjoyed the writing and am anxious to read more by this author.

Apr 06, 2012

for a book starting off with WW1 and going to Vietnam this one had me hooked. From the voice of the mothers and wives this was something i wasn't sure i would like but i did. i got into the book and wanted to know what would happen next.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at VIRL

To Top