The Boy Who Could See Demons

The Boy Who Could See Demons

A Novel

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Bestselling author Carolyn Jess-Cooke has written a brilliant novel of suspense that delves into the recesses of the human mind and soul--perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Lisa Unger. The Boy Who Could See Demons follows a child psychologist who comes up against a career-defining case--one that threatens to unravel her own painful past and jeopardizes the life of a boy who can see the impossible.
 
Dr. Anya Molokova, a child psychiatrist, is called in to work at MacNeice House, an adolescent mental health treatment center. There she is told to observe and assess Alex Connolly, a keenly intelligent, sensitive ten-year-old coping with his mother's latest suicide attempt. Alex is in need of serious counseling: He has been harming himself and others, often during blackouts. At the root of his destructive behavior, Alex claims, is his imaginary "friend" Ruen, a cunning demon who urges Alex to bend to his often violent will.
 
But Anya has seen this kind of behavior before--with her own daughter, Poppy, who suffered from early-onset schizophrenia. Determined to help Alex out of his darkness, Anya begins to treat the child. But soon strange and alarming coincidences compel Anya to wonder: Is Alex's condition a cruel trick of the mind? Or is Ruen not so make-believe after all? The reality, it turns out, is more terrifying than anything she has ever encountered.
 
A rich and deeply moving page-turner, The Boy Who Could See Demons sets out to challenge the imagination and capture the way life takes unexpected turns. In the best storytelling tradition, it leaves the reader changed.

Praise for The Boy Who Could See Demons
 
"A well written, engaging read filled with compassion for those suffering the whims of an untamed mental illness . . . A poignant read, The Boy Who Could See Demons is a suspenseful novel that probes the issues surrounding the devastating effects of mental illness. The author delves into the psychological issues of schizophrenia and mental disorders with such dexterity it leaves the reader stirred and affected, questioning throughout the story what is real and what is not. . . . As the conclusion draws near, the story takes unexpected turns, making it even more dramatic and compelling." -- New York Journal of Books
 
"Impressive . . . Jess-Cooke is every bit as skillful in her vivid portrayals of unworldly beings . . . as in illustrating the dreadful toll taken by mental illness." -- Booklist
 
"A searing novel of suspense." -- Publishers Weekly

"A psychologically complex thriller, told with compassion in a marvelously suspenseful narrative that keeps you engaged from the first page to the last . . . This book has it all: a dark and dangerous setting, characters full of depth, rich emotions, and a clever plot. You'll fall in love with Alex--and his demons." --Chevy Stevens, author of Still Missing
 
"Top-notch psychological suspense . . . Beware what you think you know. It might be only the demons talking." --Lisa Gardner, author of Touch & Go
 
"Brilliant! Rich with fully formed characters, this heart-gripping novel will keep you riveted from first page to last." --Jeffery Deaver, author of XO
 
"Utterly captivating, this is a book I adored and savored from the first to the very last magical page." --Tess Gerritsen, author of Ice Cold
Publisher: New York : Delacorte Press, c2012
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9780345536532
Branch Call Number: FIC JES
Characteristics: 268 p. : ill. ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
GLNovak
Jan 12, 2014

Dr. Anya Molokova is called in to observe and assess Alex Connelly, a 10-yr-old boy who is exhibiting psychological problems after witnessing his mother's latest attempt at suicide. The story takes place in Belfast at present day where the country is slowly emerging from the terror that was The Troubles. Told first from Alex's perspective and then Anya's, the story kept me reading to see how Anya handled Alex's issues, and how Alex handled his demons. I was not prepared for the ending. Great story.

a
abra92
Jul 08, 2013

A great novel about early onset schizophrenia. It is written with great humour but remains the balance with the scientific side of this mental disorder and provides great background information. There are no clear lines between reality and hallucinations which really challenges the reader. And you also get a bit of Irish History blended into the plot.
So this is no easy story, but a great read once you get your head around it.

m
mellyrose89
Jul 09, 2012

I loved this book!! It is a great read.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top