The Devil You Know

The Devil You Know

Paperback - 2015
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:

In the vein of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones, The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut novel about a rookie reporter whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger-and a stalker-right to her doorstep.

The year is 1993. First-year reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved 1982 murder of her best friend, Lianne Gagnon, back when the girls were both eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never apprehended. Now twenty-two and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to researching the real story of who killed Lianne. She leans on childhood friend David Patton for help, but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large-and that he's coming back for her.

In the wake of Paul Bernardo's arrest for a double murder, and a case of identity theft that seems to point to Robert Cameron himself, Evie is stalked by a strange man who stands out on her fire escape night after night, watching her every move. Has her anxiety simply taken over? Or can Evie somehow be drawing the killer closer to herself? Only a harrowing last visit to see David's father, Graham, provides the answer Evie has been so desperate to find-the trail that leads from Patton to Cameron to eleven-year-old Lianne, and ultimately to Evie herself.

Publisher: Toronto : Patrick Crean Editions, c2015
Edition: 1st Canadian ed
ISBN: 9781443434744
Branch Call Number: FIC DEM
FIC DEM
Characteristics: 308 p. ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

samdog123 May 11, 2016

This is a really good suspense novel, quite unlike anything I've read before. Set in Toronto in the early 90's, it deals with main character, 21 year old Evie. As a new reporter, her job has her investigating the Paul Bernardo murder case, which brings up her old memories of a childhood friend who was kidnapped and then murdered. The locals in Toronto and St. Catharines were so familiar to me. The overwhelming dark tone and fear from those days when the Bernardo case came to light read like it was yesterday. The ending is unexpected and unsettling. This is good suspense!

l
labyrinthine
Dec 24, 2015

The Devil You Know by Elizabeth De Mariaffi
The Devil You Know is a tense thriller by the Giller prize nominated author Elizabeth De Mariaffi. When the novel’s heroine, Evie Jones, was young her best friend Lianne Gagnon went missing. Lianne was later found strangled and discarded. This added her to a long list of girls kidnapped, raped, and murdered during Evie’s youth. Now it is 1993, Evie is all grown up and working as a journalist in Toronto. In her professional life Evie is often called upon to investigate cases similar to Lianne’s. This prompts Evie’s decision to re-open Lianne’s cold case. Evie begins putting the pieces together and comes to a shocking conclusion. Lianne’s killer is still out there and he is not finished with Evie. Throughout the novel Evie is forced to completely reconsider her relationships with those closest to her. I found this book to be very readable. It was fast paced and interesting, definitely a lot of fun to read. It shows how traumatic events, in childhood or otherwise, never leave a person. This novel accurately portrays the effects of loss and a climate of fear on a human mind. The main character Evie is fascinating. She is simultaneously vulnerable and strong, a paradox of a person. I felt the ending was a bit anti-climactic, but it does tie everything up quite nicely in a way. The author also captures the tone and landscape of not only Toronto the good, but Toronto the bad. Overall an intriguing piece of Canadian fiction.

t
toby65
Oct 18, 2015

Overly contrived, and moving at a glacial pace, this book did not capture my interest at all.

I agree with shinbone - 'Don't waste your time'

s
shinbone
Sep 10, 2015

Ugh! If there was a book I could rip in two this would be it! Frustrating. No quotations when people are speaking makes it difficult to follow. By a third of the book- the point where I looked ahead to see if it was going to go anywhere, I figured out that it wasn't going to get any better. I was right. It was recommended by the CBC as a good read so I gave it a shot. Yuck! Don't waste your time.

e
estokely
Aug 23, 2015

If you are a woman, you just 'get' the way the author describes the way women feel when walking home at night, or alone at home and they hear a strange sound. It's how we have to think, feel, react to keep ourselves 'safe'. Wrap all that around a story about an old child murder with the Scarborough Rapist, Paul Bernardo and a peeping Tom and you get a suspense filled mystery that is a great read. My only criticism is that they spelled St Catharines incorrectly throughout the entire book! As someone born & raised there, it irked me every time I saw it.

r
ralwal
Apr 17, 2015

A very good start, but by page 93 the main plot (as described on book cover) had not really begun. There was much fill about ice cream and what I thought completely irrelevant material. Most disappointing.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top