Young Bloods

Young Bloods

Paperback - 2007
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
YOUNG BLOODS is the first gripping novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Wellington and Napoleon quartet. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris.

Arthur Wesley (the future Duke of Wellington) was born and bred to be a leader. With a firm belief that the nation must be led by a king, the red-coated British officer heads for battle against the French Republic, to restore the fallen monarchy.

Napoleon Bonaparte joins the French military on the eve of the Revolution. He believes leadership is won by merit, not by noble birth. When anarchy explodes in Paris he's thrust into the revolutionary army poised to march against Britain.

As two mighty Empires embark on a bloody duel, Wesley and Bonaparte prepare to face a sworn enemy, unaware that the fate of Europe will one day lie in their hands...
Publisher: London :, Headline Review,, 2007
ISBN: 9780755324347
Branch Call Number: FIC SCA
Characteristics: 597 pages : maps ; 20 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

z
zipread
May 03, 2013

Young Bloods: Wellington and Napoleon. Two Soldiers and One Destiny. --- by Simon Scarrow. Simon has turned out one very good novel. His protagonists aren’t cut- outs: they’re real. We see they too, have fears on the battlefield; misgivings about the outcome of the actions of war will produce. From the minute he was born, we follow young Naboleon in his village on Corsica; his schooling in France where he is perpetually the Outsider; and then his return, in support of the French, to Corsica. Young Arthur Wesley, nearly brushed by death at the very moment he is born, like Naboleon, is also somewhat at the fringe of society. Proficient in the violin, he never quite manages to please his mother especially after his father dies. Unfortunately, the time frame of this novel is such that we never actually get to see the two protagonists on the same stage. Both men are limed as gentle, having their reservations’ about the seamier side of war. Scarrow has written well: are there some sequels in the winds? It is to be hoped.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top