Our Little Secret

Our Little Secret

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
For fans of In a Dark, Dark Wood and All the Missing Girls comes Our Little Secret , a compulsive and thrilling debut about a missing woman, a tangled love triangle, the secrets we keep and the secrets we share.

The detective wants to know what happened to Saskia, as if I could just skip to the ending and all would be well. But stories begin at the beginning and some secrets have to be earned.

Angela is being held in a police interrogation room. Her ex's wife has gone missing and Detective Novak is sure Angela knows something, despite her claim that she's not involved.

At Novak's prodding, Angela tells a story going back ten years, explaining how she met and fell in love with her high school friend HP. But as her past unfolds, she reveals a disconcerting love triangle and a dark, tangled web of betrayals. Is Angela a scorned ex-lover with criminal intent? Or a pawn in someone else's revenge scheme? Who is she protecting? And why?

Twisty and suspenseful, Our Little Secret is an intense cat-and-mouse game and a riveting thriller about the lies we tell others--and ourselves.
Publisher: Toronto, Ontario :, Simon & Schuster,, 2017
Edition: Simon & Schuster Canada edition
ISBN: 9781501142802
Branch Call Number: FIC NAY
Characteristics: 229 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
Gulkh
Jun 21, 2018

I loved Angela and HP's love story. It felt real and drew me in. It starts off as a cool friendship and progresses in to a relationship. Angela is completely immersed in HP and events unhinge her later on. Roz Nay tells their story in a compelling way. The ending was sort of predictable but the buildup and the many layers of their relationship was worth it.

4
4catsdogs
Jun 19, 2018

This must be the most tedious book published this year. It certainly is not a psychological thriller. The main character tells her life story to a detective - hours and hours and hours of it - and apparently he passively sat through it all - yeah right. There is a disappearance and then a murder. It is patently obvious who the murderer is and there is a feeble attempt to fool the reader and place suspicion on somebody else. The whole plot just didn't ring true. By the time the Big Reveal came at the end of the book, there is disappointment, as we already know the culprit. There is disbelief - is that it?
Don't waste your time on this one. There are so many amazing writers out there.

r
retiring_rep
May 20, 2018

If you like a well written mystery book whose plot is akin to a well crafted puzzle this book is for you. I hope there will be more novels from this author.

DPLjennyp May 15, 2018

A solid psychological thriller in the vein of Ruth Ware, Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.

k
KatG1983
Nov 30, 2017

Honestly, this book gave me so much anxiety as I read it. You empathise with the narrator, even though you suspect you can't trust her. I appreciated the way the story flowed, and how fast paced it was. At 227 pages, it was just the right length.

debwalker Jul 24, 2017

Another unreliable narrator. Victim or villain? Nay is a rising star.

e
elkhan
Jul 05, 2017

I really enjoyed this book! Read my full review on my book reviews blog at https://elsbookreviews.blogspot.ca/ and please leave a comment on there regarding what you thought about this book! 😀

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top