Virtuoso: The Olga Samaroff Story

Virtuoso: The Olga Samaroff Story

Downloadable Video - 2015
Rate this:
Stifled by anti-American sentiments towards Americans as musicians and Old World prejudices towards women, Lucy Hickenlooper would later reinvent herself as Olga Samaroff and become one of America's first and perhaps most famous international female concert artist and teacher of the early 20th Century. Virtuoso is the compelling story of an American woman who was a true musical progressive, an achiever, and an innovator. Samaroff's virtuoso career was marked with improbable firsts. She was the first American pianist to perform all 32 Beethoven Sonatas in concert; the first woman music critic for a New York daily newspaper; and among the first pianists to ever make recordings (1908.) In 1944, she saw the immense potential for television and televised a series of lectures with the General Electric Company. Samaroff performed and socialized as the respected and beloved equal among all the leading musical figures of Europe and America. She counted among her personal friends all the great performers and composers of her time. She even married in 1911 one of the legendary conductors, Leopold Stokowski, whose talent she first recognized and career she fostered, even arranging for his first position as a conductor. This 60 minute documentary tells of the true, yet untold story beginning from her life as Lucy Hickenlooper in Texas to her rise as Olga Samaroff, the celebrated concert star of her time. It is an era in our American culture that has largely been underserved in the documentary film genre. Read filmmaker, Donna Kline's, interview here.
Publisher: [San Francisco, California, USA] :, Kanopy Streaming,, 2015
Characteristics: 1 online resource (streaming video file)


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at VIRL

To Top