The Bear and the Nightingale

The Bear and the Nightingale

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
16
Rate this:
"--Robin Hobb, bestselling author of the Fitz and the Fool trilogy "A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up."--Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted"-- "In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, Pytor hides the gift away and Vasya grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay"-- "A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern'sThe Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil. After Vasilisa's mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa's new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows. And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa's stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or confinement in a convent. As danger circles nearer, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed--this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse's most frightening tales. Advance praise for The Bear and the Nightingale "An extraordinary retelling of a very old tale. A Russian setting adds unfamiliar spice to the story of a young woman who does not rebel against the limits of her role in her culture so much as transcend them. The Bear and the Nightingale is a wonderfully layered novel of family and the harsh wonders of deep winter magic
Publisher: New York :, Del Rey,, 2017
ISBN: 9781101885949
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

forbesrachel Aug 19, 2017

The old beliefs and the new clash in this alluring dark fairytale. In the depths of 14th century Russia, winter can mean death, but by properly giving tribute to the household spirits, the village where Pyotr Vladimirovich and his family live, has survived in relative prosperity. Vasilisa is different from Pyotr's other children. She has a wildness to her, the sight, and an affinity for the old magic. Because of this, she catches the attention of ancient gods, both good and evil, whose power dynamic is shifting. Up until this point, Christianity has existed relatively well with the local beliefs, but when Pyotr is made to marry the god-fearing, and sight-inflicted Anna Ivanovna, who in turn turns to an ambitious priest, this balance is shattered. Only Vasilisa knows that there is a threat lurking in the woods, and she is determined to protect her home. The summary for The Bear and the Nightingale can be a bit misleading. While Vasilisa is certainly the focus of this tale, it is not only her story. The book is told in the third person, switching to different characters all the way throughout; we get to see events from multiple perspectives, and we are never left guessing at a person's motivations. Most characters are not as stereotypical as the summary makes them seem; Vasilisa's kindly and wise nursemaid makes a huge mistake, and the "evil" stepmother is not evil, but broken. This speaks to Arden's ability to take folktale staples, and spin them into something fresh. Her world has a sinister underpinning, but the strength and love that the spirits and people have breathes hope into it. The Bear and the Nightingale comes to a satisfying conclusion, and yet this is clearly only the beginning of Vasilisa's story. Without any chains to shackle her, it will be interesting to see where she will go, and how she will grow from all the first experiences that await her.

c
cottageunderh
Aug 14, 2017

I loved this book! While it was a little slow in the beginning, I really enjoyed the story arc. This is set in Russia and the fairy tales and the mystical beasties were great to read. Plus I really connected to the message of the book: Vasya's determination to decide her own path in life, breaking away from the traditional marriage and children route. And you know, bears, nightingales, and upyrs equals awesomeness.

Jcheng1234 Jul 25, 2017

A beautiful fairy tale of magic and spirits. The Russian names, folklore and history are very interesting. I think the main character is very brave. Her determination to protect her family and loved ones is admirable. The priest’s disillusion is a good warning for us to differentiate good from evil. I finished the book in one day and I enjoyed it very much.

p
PRMorris
Jun 24, 2017

A beautifully written fairy tale that reminded me of the original, terrifying Grimm tales. It made me look up some Russian folklore. I look forward to the next one!

AL_JANE Jun 12, 2017

What a deliciously dark and mysterious novel! It read like a Grimm's fairy tale for adults. Filled with Russian folklore and superstitions, it's sure to delight those longing for a story.

b
booksmile
Apr 23, 2017

I couldn't make it past the crying, unwilling bride that just wanted to go into a convent...

j
julia_sedai
Mar 17, 2017

I really enjoyed this fairy tale. I was so relieved and happy to read a fantasy book that for once didn't have any sex and barely even any romance, which was refreshing. I also love all of the Russian names and folktales. I think the author did a fantastic job for her debut novel and I'm looking forward to reading more of her books. If you like fairy tales and/or Russia during the medieval times, this book is for you!

k
kkirby221
Mar 16, 2017

Enjoyed the book. Made me realize how little of Russian folklore and history I know. It was a fast read. I would recommend this book.

b
bridge1
Mar 06, 2017

I liked the first part of the book but the encroachment of people who force the characters to believe a certain way, or else, made the story too much like modern-day politics.

b
becker
Feb 22, 2017

This is Russian folklore transformed into a beautiful novel full of enchantment and atmosphere. I would recommend this for people who enjoyed The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey or The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern or anyone who enjoys fable and folklore.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top