The Girl Before

The Girl Before

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
18
Rate this:
"A psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception"--
"In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Silent Wife, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception. Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life. The request seems odd, even intrusive--and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating. EMMA Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant--and it does. JANE After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space--and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before. Advance praise for The Girl Before "Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning--a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense."--Lee Child "Riveting! One of the most compelling page-turners I've read in years. Twisty, turny, and with an ending not to be missed!"--Lisa Gardner"--
Publisher: New York :, Ballantine Books,, 2017
ISBN: 9780385686921
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
LexiLou2
Aug 14, 2017

Initially I was hooked by the intriguing details, but it did not take long for the redundant and overt sexual content to really put me off. I don't know how it ends, and I actually do not care.

l
LizzieCent
Aug 10, 2017

Maybe it will make a better movie than a book. Tried to have a mysterious, twisty ending but didn't succeed. Tiresome and took too long to get to the end.

b
Beverleigh
Aug 03, 2017

Read the reviews and tried to get into this. Totally boring. I read for 5 chapters and gave up.

m
mztory
Jul 28, 2017

This is a book I could not put down once I started it. I really enjoyed it more than 'Gone Girl' or 'Girl On A Train'. It was much better than either of those and scarier.

l
Lamlake
Jun 29, 2017

The book is too clever for its own good. The ending was a complete miss. It was clear that the author just tossed something in to make a twist. You will see no evidence of what was written being true. I don't have respect for writers who do that.

I would not recommend this book to anyone.

a
alexfurey
Jun 29, 2017

I loved this book, I'd say it's probably my favourite book that I've read this year. An easy read with out being mind numbing, as some easy reads are. I was very engaged and found it easy to whip through several pages in a sitting. It's the kind of book I would take everywhere and pry open every chance I got. I liked the resolution to the story, but the ending itself was a bit meh.

0
0007548100dmw
Jun 24, 2017

A very intriguing book. Held my interest until the end. Would recommend.

CMLReads_Kristin Jun 10, 2017

Lots of twists and turns in this thriller. Fans of Gone Girl and Girl on a Train will appreciate.

h
hilln
Jun 06, 2017

The hype is real! This is an excellent thriller that I devoured in the space of a few days ( dang it for my job getting in the way of my reading!). The story is cleverly told but everything comes together after the end of the story on the acknowledgments page. This book is clever with a heart. Enjoy

d
darladoodles
May 21, 2017

The most intriguing thing about this book is the identity of J.P. Delaney. I hope we will find out in the near future. I am really curious.

The plot of this book sucked me in from the start. I like books showing more than one POV and it was done quite skilfully in this book. We read Emma's story and Jane's in alternating chapters and know that at some point we will find out just what happened to lead to Emma's death.

There were times when this book was a bit too R-rated and I thought the end was a bit of a let down. It was also difficult to like any of the characters. They all seemed to be self-destructive.

There were some good plot twists, so if you keep they above drawbacks in mind -- enjoy reading this thriller. I did find it to be a great excuse for a reading break in the midst of the busyness we find in May activities.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top