The Love Book

The Love Book

eBook
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Named a Pick of the Week for the week of January 2nd by Publishers Weekly

A New York Post Required Reading Pick

"Fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary Kay Andrews will enjoy this grown-up Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants , a story of risk, reward, loss, and love."
-- Booklist

"Happy endings abound in this novel about the power of love and friendship."
-- Kirkus Reviews

"A compelling mix of story lines...plenty of good banter and characterization."
-- Publishers Weekly

"A heartwarming tale of friendship and love and a nice way to welcome a new year."
-- New York Post

"Solomon showcased four different women and their journey to find what was either right in front of them or something that made them a better person--change for the better."
-- Portland Book Review

"This book will definitely appeal to readers that believe that the universe gives us what we seek out."
-- Heroes and Heartbreakers , Women's Fiction Best Bets for January 2015

"Everybody needs to read this like, right now. You won't regret it."
-- Book Referees

"Solomon...remind[s] readers that sometimes you really do have to be open to love before it will find you."
-- A New Day

"I loved every step of this journey and felt privileged to be along for the ride."
-- Books & Life

" The Love Book should come with a warning: Do not begin unless you can afford to finish it--today . I could not, and did not, put it down. A contemporary Jane Austen, Nina Solomon has written a smart and funny book about what it's like to be a woman, no longer young but not yet old and still single, looking for love in all the wrong places, only to find life. I laughed out loud so often I was downright downcast when I reached the last page and had to give up the good company of these wonderful characters and go back to looking at the world through my own eyes instead of Solomon's."
-- Beverly Donofrio , author of Astonished: A Story of Healing and Finding Grace

The latest novel in Akashic's Kaylie Jones Books imprint.

It all starts when four unsuspecting women on a singles' bike trip through Normandy discover a mysterious red book about love. But did they discover it--or did the book bring them together? Magical words, spells, conjurations, and a little dose of synchronicity abound in The Love Book , an anti-rom com about the misadventures of four women who embark on a soul mate-seeking journey. Somehow The Love Book insinuates itself into their lives and has its way with them. But there is more than matchmaking afoot. The four women--Emily, Beatrice, Max, and Cathy--are each nudged, cajoled, inspired--perhaps "guided"--despite themselves, to discover love, fulfillment, and the true nature of what being a soul mate really means. While on the surface a lighthearted romp, the novel is a serious exploration of the difficulties women routinely encounter when their lives do not turn out the way society, their families, and they themselves may have planned.
Publisher: New York :, Akashic Books
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781617753374
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kriegel
Jul 19, 2015

This book wasn't as good as I was lead to believe. Although it got lots of positive reviews, the ending came too soon and left more questions than answers.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top