With the End in Mind

With the End in Mind

Dying, Death, and Wisdom in An Age of Denial

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, a palliative care doctor's breathtaking stories from 30 years spent caring for the dying.

Modern medical technology is allowing us to live longer and fuller lives than ever before. And for the most part, that is good news. But with changes in the way we understand medicine come changes in the way we understand death. Once a familiar, peaceful, and gentle -- if sorrowful -- transition, death has come to be something from which we shield our eyes, as we prefer to fight desperately against it rather than accept its inevitability.

Dr. Kathryn Mannix has studied and practiced palliative care for thirty years. In With the End in Mind , she shares beautifully crafted stories from a lifetime of caring for the dying, and makes a compelling case for the therapeutic power of approaching death not with trepidation, but with openness, clarity, and understanding. Weaving the details of her own experiences as a caregiver through stories of her patients, their families, and their distinctive lives, Dr. Mannix reacquaints us with the universal, but deeply personal, process of dying.

With insightful meditations on life, death, and the space between them, With the End in Mind describes the possibility of meeting death gently, with forethought and preparation, and shows the unexpected beauty, dignity, and profound humanity of life coming to an end.

Publisher: New York :, Little, Brown Spark,, 2018
Edition: First Little, Brown Spark paperback editon
ISBN: 9780316504478
Branch Call Number: ANF 304.64 MAN
Characteristics: 341 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
bookybird
May 03, 2018

After reading a positive review of this book in The Australian newspaper, I checked it out, and I have to agree that it is very good. The author's experience as a palliative care consultant combined with being a Cognitive Behaviour Therapist is seen in her descriptions of the treatment and care of patients in the last stage of life who require attention to not only their physical and medical needs, but the psychological and spiritual as well. Each chapter is a type of lesson not only for the doctors, carers, and families to learn, but the patients too, indirectly. Each 'lesson' explores a different aspect of the process of dying with anecdotes about specific patients. The events are often heart-wrenching, but they are told in a heart-warming, even light-hearted way which is still clinically informative, yet ultimately uplifting. I would recommend this book strongly to anyone who is wanting to be enlightened about the needs of people they care for who are living the end of their lives, or for those who are looking for insight for themselves. Let's hope it is on the reading list in Aged Care courses.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VIRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top